Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
LSU QB Joe Burrow takes home Heisman
There's only one major trophy remaining for Joe Burrow to lift up this college football season.

The LSU quarterback on Saturday won the Heisman Trophy, given to the most outstanding player in college football. He beat out fellow quarterbacks Jalen Hurts (Oklahoma) and Justin Fields (Ohio State) and defensive end Chase Young (Ohio State) to hoist the 85th edition of the award at the PlayStation Theater in New York City.

Burrow finished with the largest margin of victory in Heisman history, as 1,846 points separated him from second-place Hurts. He also received a record 90.7% of all the first-place votes available and was named on 95.5% of ballots, another record.


The plays and moments that defined Joe Burrow's race to the Heisman

Ranking the most entertaining bowl games
Fields finished third, and his Ohio State teammate Young came in fourth.

"My journey, I wouldn't have traded it for anything in the world," said Burrow -- who transferred to LSU from Ohio State after the 2017 season -- during an emotional acceptance speech.

The senior thanked his offensive line and other teammates first during his speech but saved his gratitude toward LSU coach Ed Orgeron for last.

"You have no idea what you mean to my family," Burrow said through tears. "You know I didn't play for three years, and you took a chance on me, not knowing if I could play or not, and I am forever grateful for you.

"Can you imagine a guy like Coach O, giving me the keys to his football program? He just means so much to me and my family ... and to LSU. I sure hope they give him a lifetime contract, because he deserves it."

Burrow is just the second player in LSU history to win the award, joining running back Billy Cannon, who won it in 1959.

He threw for an SEC-record 48 touchdown passes and 4,715 yards in 2019 while leading the Tigers to the conference title. The Heisman capped a spectacular week in which Burrow added to his trophy haul after winning the Maxwell Award (best overall), Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback) and Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, in addition to being named the Associated Press Player of the Year.

He is on pace to set a major college record, completing 77.9% of his passes this season.

Only the College Football Playoff national championship trophy remains out there for Burrow to hoist. LSU, the top seed, will take on Hurts and No. 4 Oklahoma in a semifinal at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Dec. 28 (4 p.m. ET, ESPN/ESPN App), while No. 2 Ohio State plays No. 3 Clemson in the other semifinal, at the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl that same day (8 p.m. ET, ESPN/ESPN App).

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

About Research Chemicals forum

              Quick Links

              User Links